Structure and remit of our Governing body

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They come from all sections of the community and all walks of life. Some of our governors are elected by parents and staff, some are appointed by the Governing body or the North Tyneside Learning Trust.

The Governing body has 3 core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils and the efficient and effective performance management of the staff

  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

Name Category of Governor

Margie Burdis (Chair) Foundation

David W Bavaird (Vice Chair) Co-opted

David Bartlett Co-opted

Jennie King Co-opted

Andrew Scott Foundation Governor

Yomi Fowode Local Authority

Terry Conway Headteacher

Tom Walker Staff Governor

Claire Cook Parent


Personal development, attendance, rewards and sanctions

Chair – TBC

David W Bavaird (Co-opted)

Terry Conway (Headteacher)

Non governors: Jo Pearson, Jenna Rouse and

Rachel Stevenson


Value for money

Chair – Margie Burdis (Foundation)

David W Bavaird (Co-opted)

Yomi Fowode (Local Authority)

Andrew Scott (Foundation Governor)

Claire Cook (Parent)

Terry Conway (Headteacher)

Non governors: David James and Alison Tate

Personal Development & Safeguarding Committee

Chair – David W Bavaird (Co-opted)

Jennie King (Co-opted)

Yomi Fowode (Local Authority)

Tom Walker (Staff Governor)


Curriculum, teaching, learning and assessment

Chair – Jennie King (Co-opted)

David W Bavaird (Co-opted)

Margie Burdis (Foundation)

Claire Cook (Parent)

Terry Conway (Headteacher)

Non Governors: Jenna Rouse, Rachel Stevenson, Jo Pearson and Jack Collins


Terry Conway (Headteacher)

Plus 2 Governors


(Statutory Committee)

David Bartlett (Co-opted)

Margie Burdis (Foundation)

Jenny King (Co-opted)


(Statutory Committee)

3 Governors depending on availability

*Staff members to withdraw if they have been contaminated by a specific case and Parent members to withdraw if they have a conflict of interest